Naruto Tailed Beasts Guide

This is a guide for Tailed Beasts in Naruto.

Tailed Beasts (also known as Bijuu) are monsters that exist in the world of Naruto. They are also known as demons in Japanese mythology.

Each one has an incredible amount of chakra within them. To try and combat these powerful beasts and stop the destruction they cause, they were captured and sealed inside newborn babies using a powerful technique that would kill the person performing it.

The Fourth Hokage was one of those people who sacrificed their life to seal a tailed beast and protect the world from chaos. When humans have a bijuu sealed inside them, they are known as Jinchuriki.

Each tailed beast has a different amount of tails, ranging from one to nine.

Tailed Beasts

Origin of Tailed Beasts

The nine separate tailed beasts that exist today were created from the chakra of the Ten-Tails, the original demon. The Sage of the Six Paths subdued the Ten-Tails and sealed within his body to become the first Jinchuriki.

However, this method was only a temporary way of sealing the demon, as once the Sage died, the Ten-Tails would be free again. As the Sage was close to death, he used his “Creation of All Things” ability to split the monster into nine-tailed beasts and scatter them across the ninja world.

Tailed Beasts List

This is a list of all known tailed beasts in the Naruto world. It also includes the original beast.

One-Tails (Shukaku)

  • Japanese Name: Ichibi no Shukaku,

Shukakutakes the form of a raccoon. This tailed beast was sealed within Gaara.

Two-Tails (Matatabi)

  • Japanese Name: Nibi no Nekomata

Matatabitakes the form of a two-tailed cat. This tailed beast was sealed within Yugito Ni.

Three-Tails (Isobu)

  • Japanese Name: Sanbi no Kyodaigame,

Isobu takes the form of a three-tailed turtle. This demon was sealed within Yagura.

Four-Tails (Son Goku)

Son Goku
  • Japanese Name: Yonbi no Saru

takes the form of a four-tailed monkey. This demon was sealed within Roshi. Son Goku is also known as King of the Sage Monkeys.

Five-Tails (Kokuo)

  • Japanese Name: Gobi no Irukauma,

Kokuo takes the form of a five-tailed dolphin-horse. This demon was sealed within Han.

Six-Tails (Saiken)

  • Japanese Name: Rokubi no Namekuji,

Saikentakes the form of a six-tailed slug. This demon was sealed within Utakata.

Seven-Tails (Chomei)

  • Japanese Name: Nanabi no Kabutomushi

Chomeitakes the form of a seven-tailed beetle. This demon was sealed within Fu.

Eight-Tails (Gyuki)

  • Japanese Name: Hachibi no Kyogyu

Gyuki takes the form of an eight-tailed octopus. This demon was sealed within Killer Bee.

Nine-Tails (Kurama)

  • Japanese Name: Kyuubi no Yoko

Kurama takes the form of a fox. This demon was sealed within Uzumaki Naruto, who has incredible stamina and can summon large amounts of the Kyuubi’s chakra. Other translations include: Kyuubi, Nine Tailed Demon Fox, Kitsune.

Ten-Tails (Kaguya Ōtsutsuki & Shinju)

The Ten-Tails was the original tailed beast. To prevent it from inflicting more harm on the world, the Sage of the Six Paths sealed it inside himself and then split the chakra into nine different creatures.